In search of a work experience placement this year, I’ve sent out numerous letters to various news publications in Birmingham. I have a good CV and my letters are convincing but I’m not having any luck. However, there is a similar theme running through the reply letters I am receiving.

‘I’m sorry, due to the ever growing number of applicants, we can only accept candidates from a course run by the National Council for the Training of Journalists.’

As a student who is not on such a course, this is slightly worrying!

What does this mean for my future job prospects? Where will it leave me when I’m searching for a job, if a degree may not be enough?

It seems we’ll need an NCTJ qualification as well, despite any work experience, just to get a news agency to consider us as potential employees.